Liam Talbot ends on a high at Albert Park

Liam Talbot has capped off Round 2 of the CAMS Australian GT Championship with a stunning victory in Albert Park.

A string of consistent performances set up Talbot’s across the event’s opening three days, while clever use of his Pirelli tyres paid dividends in the final race of the weekend.

Having started fourth, Talbot made his play for the lead midway around the third lap with an brilliant move on pole sitter Roger Lago.

Gaining good traction through Turn 9, Talbot had the momentum to draw alongside, racing side by side through Turn 11 before Lago was finally forced to ceded the position.

The door to door action wasn’t over there, with Max Twigg then launching an attack on Lago as they raced into Turn 13, taking the position.

The result marked Talbot’s second Australian GT victory, his first as a solo driver, and his first since 2013.

“I knew that we had the pace,” Talbot beamed. “We saved everything for the last race because of the big points.

“I don’t really know what happened on that restart,” he added. “Roger struggled and I had a massive opportunity with Max Twigg. We were then mowing down Roger, and I was just wondering where we could get him.

“Roger has done a great job all weekend, and all year, so I knew I was in for a challenge. Ultimately our tyre selection was the crucial difference there.”

An incident on the opening lap saw Fraser Ross drop down the order, before a strong recovery drive meant the Tekno Autosports McLaren 650S GT3 climbed back to 15th in the eight lap encounter.

Two corners later, the congested 28-car field saw Peter Major run out of room, dropping a wheel off the circuit which  and saw him make contact with the luckless Hector Lester. with the incident drawing the first safety car of the weekend.

In the early exchanges Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport driver Ryan Millier made great strides forward to sit four after starting ninth,only for a mechanical issue forced the Lamborghini to skate off track at turn one, drawing the safety car for a second time.

Race 2 pole sitter Max Twigg (Australian Engineered Flooring Mercedes-AMG GT3) claimed second place behind Talbot and netting victory in the Gold Driver Cup for the weekend.

Geoff Emery rounded out the podium in the Valvoline Audi R8 LMS, he and co-driver Kelvin van der Linde taking out the round courtesy of strong results in all four races.

The points haul sees the duo move into fourth in the Australian GT Championship, which is now led by Lago in the JBS Australia Lamborghini R-EX.

Lago and co-driver David Russell were strong contenders across all four races, their weekend’s efforts rewarded with Lago leaping to the top of the Championship standings, and second overall for the weekend.

Victory for Talbot in the finale saw the Walkinshaw GT3 driver take third for the round, a mighty effort for the solo racer, and record the team’s first Australian GT race win.

“To stand on my own two feet without a Pro driver in this format, which is very tough, I couldn’t thank the team enough,” said Talbot. “They did a great job; it’s a real team effort.”

The Invitational Class was dominated by Wayne Mack aboard the Mack Roofing Products Ferrari 458 ahead of Matthew Turnbull (Fire Rating Solutions Lamborghini Gallardo) and Michael O’Donnell (Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers Porsche GT3 Cup Car).

The CAMS Australian GT Championship now moves on to Barbagallo (May 5 – 7) for its fourth round, while Australian GT will be back in action with the opening round of the 2017 CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series presented by Pirelli at Sandown in two weeks (April 7 – 9).

Race 4 Results
Pos    Competitor/Team    Driver    Vehicle    Time
1    MEGA Racing    Liam Talbot    Porsche 911 GT3-R    28:29.980
2    Australian Engineered Flooring    Max Twigg    Mercedes-AMG GT3    28:31.599
3    Valvoline    Geoff Emery/Kelvin van der Linde    Audi R8 LMS    28:33.360
4    JBS Australia    Roger Lago/David Russell    Lamborghini R-EX    28:34.196
5    Interlloy M Motorsport    Yasser Shahin/Glen Wood    Lamborghini R-EX    28:34.821
6    Supabarn Supermarkets    James Koundouris/Ash Walsh    Audi R8 LMS    28:35.473
7    Objective Racing    Tony Walls    McLaren 650S GT3    28:36.579
8    Moveitnet/AFS    Tony Bates    Mercedes-AMG GT3    28:37.808
9    Hallmarc Construction    Marc Cini/Dean Fiore    Audi R8 LMS    28:38.596
10    Valvoline    Tim Miles    Audi R8 LMS    28:38.889
11    Hog’s Breath Café/Griffith Corporation    Mark Griffith/Jake Camilleri    Mercedes-AMG GT3    28:40.697
12    BMW Team SRM    Steve Richards/James Bergmuller    BMW M6 GT3    28:41.387
13    Maranello Motorsport    Peter Edwards    Ferrari 488 GT3    28:41.933
14    Industrie Clothing    Nick Kelly    Audi R8 Ultra    28:42.023
15    Tekno Autosports    Fraser Ross/Lewis Williamson    McLaren 650S GT3    28:42.097
16    HHH Triffid Racing    Michael Hovey    Lamborghini R-EX    28:45.619
17    Darrell Lea    Tony Quinn    McLaren 650S GT3    28:48.754
18    AMAC Motorsport    Andrew Macpherson    Lamborghini Huracan GT3    28:49.606
19    Mack Roofing Products    Wayne Mack    Ferrari 458 GT3    28:50.067
20    Timken Zagame Motorsport    Adrian Deitz/Cameron McConville    Lamborghini Huracan GT3    28:51.141
21    Scott Taylor Motorsport    Scott Taylor    Mercedes-AMG GT3    28:53.228
22    Fire Rating Solutions    Mathew Turnbull    Lamborghini Gallardo GT3    28:55.417
23    KFC    Gary Higgon/Daniel Gaunt    Audi R8 LMS    28:55.822
24    Shoal/Thomson Geer Lawyers    Michael O’Donnell    Porsche GT3 Cup Car    28:58.083
DNF    Pirelli/Trofeo Motorsport    Ryan Millier/Ivan Capelli    Lamborghini Huracan GT3    16:20.375
DNF    DJS Racing    Danny Stuttered    BMW M6 GT3    14:25.312
DNF    PM Motorsport    Peter Major    Lamborghini R-EX
DNF    Rosso Verde Racing    Hector Lester/Benny Simonsen    Ferrari 458 GT3